Crystals and the Chakras

Table of Contents

Chakras are energy centers located throughout the body, each one having a specific function. There are seven major chakras in all. As you begin working with your chakras and balancing them, you might like to try crystals to help your practice. Crystals are ancient healing tools, some say dating back to the days of Atlantis! There has been a recent resurgence in popularity for crystals, with more and more people using them to provide healing and balancing capabilities for the different chakras. Before working with crystals and the chakras its a good idea to cleanse crystals first.

Root Chakra

The root chakra is about feeling grounded and stable in life. A balanced root chakra you will make you feel secure, which will also lead to an improved sense of self. It’s easy to find yourself ungrounded during times of change or transition, so stones that suggest the earth and ground are going to be ideal.

Think about using crystals that are brown and black, sometimes with red crystals this is the colour most associated with the root chakra.

Black crystals for the root chakra include black tourmaline, black obsidian, and jet.

Red crystals are crystals like fire agate, bloodstone, and red jasper.

Brown crystals are crystals like smoky quartz, tiger’s eye, and hematite.

Sacral Chakra

Your sacral chakra is next, which is right below your belly button. This energy center is all about your kidneys and your reproductive organs. You want to choose crystals that help with sexual energy, health, and balance. The color of these crystals is frequently orange or peach, though some brown is mixed in as well.

Crystals for the sacral chakra include carnelian, citrine, imperial topaz, moonstone, peach selenite, and fire opal.

Solar Plexus

The solar plexus is at the top of your belly, and linked with crystals often used for self-love, confidence, and inner strength. We associate the solar plexus chakra with the colors yellow and gold. Therefore, crystals like topaz, citrine, tiger’s eye, golden calcite, and golden quartz are an ideal choice to use.

Heart Chakra

Whilst we primarily associate your heart chakra with love and friendships, it has a range of other emotions too; including faith, respect, empathy & sorrow. We also focused this energy on compassion and being open to your feelings.

It is a pink chakra, though pink and green together are often combined for associated crystals. Think about pink and green crystals together like watermelon tourmaline. Some other crystals to use include rose quartz, jade, green aventurine, peridot, and emerald.

Throat Chakra

Your Throat Chakra is where you express who you are and communicate. If you struggle to talk about your feelings or find it difficult speaking and verbally expressing yourself to others, crystals that are light blue or teal are great. The best are turquoise and lapis lazuli, but you can also use aquamarine, blue topaz, angelite, and celestite.

Third Eye Chakra

When you want to improve your intuition and psychic abilities, use crystals meant for the third eye chakra. The color association for this chakra is purple and various shades of violet.

Crystals like amethyst, tanzanite, lapis lazuli, iolite, and blue tourmaline make a good choice

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is the final chakra in your body and is really about your spiritual connection to the universe. This can also be a purple chakra, though often people also use crystals of gold or clear varieties. Therefore, selenite, white moonstone, and white quartz are obvious choices. You might also want to try using amethyst, selenite, ametrine, and spirit quartz.